Merge: Use Output as anchor point + Merge into layer

Post Reply
User avatar
Saltbearer
Posts: 91
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2014 2:18 am
Location: Caflirinoa
Contact:

Merge: Use Output as anchor point + Merge into layer

Post by Saltbearer » Sat Dec 07, 2019 6:51 pm

It would be good for me to combine certain WIPs, but I'm less inclined to do that when Merge would pile dozens of modules on top of the base project. I can select all patterns and move them out of the way, but I can't do that with modules.

The solution that seems most intuitive to me: treat the Output module as an anchor point - merge the incoming project's modules relative to the Output's position. Maybe even include an option to mirror the module layout - my projects usually have the Output poking out on the right side, with a lot of open space beyond it. Mirroring would place it cleanly between the two projects!

Another idea just hit me: Merge could treat the active project A layer as the base layer of the incoming project B, so project B's layer 1 would be merged into A's selected layer 3, and B's layer 2 would be merged into A's 4.

Hmm... I like to keep everything within reach, so I almost never place modules above layer 1. Might be less convenient for people who take better advantage of layers for organization. I suppose if someone's B project would merge past A's layer 8, it could wrap around? Or treat a layer below the selected as the base? Or dump everything past 8 into 8?

User avatar
Keres
Posts: 193
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2016 9:41 am
Contact:

Re: Merge: Use Output as anchor point + Merge into layer

Post by Keres » Tue Dec 10, 2019 11:16 pm

i dont understand anything about that... you mean you have too many modules on each layer and you need an "auto-cleanup" feature?

i think it would be cool if the layer buttons also functioned as mute buttons and could just be grayed out for sound, but u can do that with MIDI CC, so...

User avatar
Saltbearer
Posts: 91
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2014 2:18 am
Location: Caflirinoa
Contact:

Re: Merge: Use Output as anchor point + Merge into layer

Post by Saltbearer » Wed Dec 11, 2019 7:53 am

I have about a hundred modules in one project and a compatible-sounding project with a hundred more in about the same places. Just annoying to have to rearrange so many individual modules vs. loading them in another spot.

Post Reply