ios with apple smart keyboard

Multi-platform modular music creation studio
stm606

ios with apple smart keyboard

Post by stm606 »

Hi
How are people setting up SunVox with the apple smart keyboard? A lot of the shortcuts rely on keys that are not immediately available etc. Transport relies on F keys for example... I am learning SunVox + I am new to the ipad - so I'm finding it a little awkward at the moment. I know I can just reassign the shortcuts - just wondering how other people are working.
Thanks!
queries

Re: ios with apple smart keyboard

Post by queries »

NightRadio can chime in about his plans, but I've noticed this too. Another example is that you can't hold down shift and then use a mouse/trackpad to connect modules together, and holding down a note key will cause a note to be re-triggered repeatedly instead of sustained.

I think part of the issue is that for a long time, keyboard support had lots of limitations as far as what apps could do, and mouse support was nonexistent. Nowadays, mice and trackpads are well-supported, and there are newer APIs that let apps do more with the keyboard.

So it could be that until recently, some things weren't possible, and now it's just a matter of how NightRadio is able to prioritize/schedule the feature alongside whatever else he has planned.
NightRadio
Site Admin

Post by NightRadio »

It's in my to-do list :)
Before iOS 13.4 there was no support for such types of events (key press / key release).
So only limited keyboard support was implemented (several predefined shortcuts).
Now i can add the full support.
stm606

Post by stm606 »

Thanks NightRadio - looking forward to the update!
stm606

Post by stm606 »