Sunvox Compo (competition) Interest check

Would you participate in a Sunvox compo?

Yes
100%
No
No votes

Total votes: 50

organic io

Sunvox Compo (competition) Interest check

Post by organic io »

Hi all. I'm new to Sunvox but not new to music tracking software.

As you may or may not be aware, Sunvox is based on Trackers ( http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tracker_%2 ... oftware%29 ) which have heavy ties to the demoscene. One of the great things about the demoscene are its frequent competitions which allow artists (whether it be musicians, coders, graphics artists) to hone their skills towards improving their craft. I love compos because they not only give you a deadline and motivation to complete a song, but you also get valuable feedback about your music and also have the opportunity to listen to great music from other artists.

There are already a lot of frequent tracking competitions going. One I myself have been particularly active in is the Soundevotion Competition ( http://www.sdcompo.com/ ), but I've done a little web searching and haven't seen any that focus on Sunvox. Since I recently purchased a Mobilepro 900 and plan on using Sunvox on it, I thought maybe I could use Sunvox for the SDcompo... Unfortunately, right now the administrator of SDcompo is not sure that enough people would use Sunvox frequently enough to warrant its addition into the list of allowed tracking formats.

So I thought... Why not have a Sunvox-only compo here on the Sunvox forums? This in itself would be fun.. So having a compo here is my primary goal.
But then I also thought if enough Sunvox users enjoyed the compo and wanted to participate in compos more frequently -- We could start up an appeal on the SDcompo forums to say "hey, these Sunvox users are interested in participating here too"

If you are not sure how a forum compo would work, you can look at some other compo threads I have run previously to get a general idea.